By January 10, 2016 0 Comments Read More →

Churchill Bullies Their Way Through Bulldog Classic

In coach Rick Lopez’s last Bulldog Classic, the hosts Churchill rolled their way through the tournament despite missing starting post player Matija Gabrillo and a number of substitutes. Churchill’s Fab 4 continued their stellar play led by do-it-all forward Harry Liu who finished with 38 points (5 3PM). Izaiah Ugoalah (28), Karn Virk (21) and Lambert Pajayon (9) combined for 96 points. #9 ranked Holy Cross came into the tournament after defeating #10 W.J. Mouat by 27 just as the winter break was ending and were led by Keegan Konn’s 21p with Nigel Kuma-Mintah and Nicholas Best adding 14 each.

Final Standings
1. Churchill AAAA #3
2. Holy Cross AAAA #9
3. Lord Byng AAA #5
4. Bishop O’Byrne (AB)
5. Killarney
6. Sentinel
7. Semiahmoo
8. David Thompson

Churchill’s Path to the Title
Elite 8: Churchill 95 – David Thompson 54
Final 4: Churchill 91 – Lord Byng 67
Championship Game: Churchill 106 – Holy Cross 79


Award Winners

MVP: Karn Virk, Churchill (w/ Sr. Girls’ MVP Tova Rae)


1st Team All-Star
Izaiah Ugoalah, Churchill
Harry Liu, Churchill
Lambert Pajayon, Churchill
Keegan Konn, Holy Cross
Nigel Kuma-Mintah, Holy Cross


2nd Team All-Star
Marcus Browne, Holy Cross
Nicholas Best, Holy Cross
De’Andre Butler, Churchill
Nathan Bromige, Lord Byng (missing)


3pt Champion & Bulldog Award Winner: Harry Liu, Churchill



All photos courtesy of Paul Czene


Posted in: High School

Post a Comment