Southridge Storm Start & Finish ‘AAA’ Provincial Tournament as #1

In 2015 they lost to runner-up Delview in the semi-finals of the ‘AA’ tournament, this year they came in as the #1 seed and carried with them solid early season wins over Churchill & Holy Cross. Despite an excellent effort from the young Steveston-London Sharks, the Storm walked away with the ‘AA’ crown.

Hunter Hughes – 29p, 18r, 3a, 2b
Dom Clayton – 17p, 11r, 8a
Mathew Andreou – 19p, 4r, 5a, 5s
#16 – 2p, 13r, 1a
Jamison Pope – 8p, 1r

Fardaws Aimaq – 40p, 32r, 3b
Nigel Boyd – 11p, 3r, 3a, 1b
Taros Johal – 7p, 5r, 2a
Ahmed Mohamud – 4p, 5r, 7a, 1s
Pierce Strutt – 6p, 6r, 5a

Road to the Banner
Sweet 16: 61-55 v. #14 Westsyde
Elite 8: 66-52 v. #11 Shawnigan Lake
Final 4: 70-54 v. #2 Lambrick Park
Championship Game: 68-40 v. #5 SMUS

Final Standings
1. Southridge (Tournament seed: 1)
2. Steveston-London (2)
3. Rick Hansen (3)
4. St. Thomas More (5)
5. Lord Byng (11)
6. Mark Isfeld (8)
7. Robert Bateman (7)
8. Abbotsford (13)
9. Valleyview (10)

Most Valuable Player
Hunter Hughes, Southridge

Best Defensive Player
Edward Ahanmisi, Bodwell

Championship Player of the Game
Fardaws Aimaq, Steveston-London

1st Team All-Star
Nate Friesen, Robert Bateman
Noah Kaefer, Mark Isfeld
Joban Pandher, Rick Hansen
Cameron Morris, St. Thomas More
Fardaws Aimaq, Steveston-London

2nd Team All-Star
Justin McChesney, Charles Hays
Nigel Boyd, Steveston-London
Dominic Clayton, Southridge
Jasper Yutuc, Duchess Park
Ryan Miller, Valleyview

Most Sportsmanlike Team
Robert Bateman

Posted in: High School

Post a Comment